Saturday, September 30, 2023

Unlucky Mammals Release New Track ‘Paper Crown’

Unlucky Mammals is a Jangle Punk trio based in Philadelphia. The band fuses classic punk, surf rock and jangle pop into original music that is equal parts fast, fuzzy, furious and fun. The riffs are massive, the rhythms rapid-fire, the hooks infectious.

Singer-guitarist Greg Kane, bassist Tim Christopher and drummer Jason Moriarty came together at the outset of the pandemic through a shared love of music on the alternative/indie rock spectrum: bands like the Dead Milkmen, the Replacements, Guided By Voices, and Green Day. Since then, the band has written music and played to audiences across the city in such venues as the Grape Room, Kung Fu Necktie and the Fire. Debut album “Fiddling in the Undertow” is being released a track at a time and will be fully available in October 2023.

Activism plays a large role in the band’s music. Similar to such artists as the Dead Kennedys, Bad Religion, and Fugazi, many of its songs muse on the consequences of such issues as climate change, income inequality and the rising threat of authoritarianism. It’s rock music with a conscience. Poli-Sci Core? Ph. D.-emo? Post-Grad-Punk? Whatever you call it, the band’s intent is to make listeners think about the world around them.

Unlucky Mammals“Paper Crown”, the latest single from Unlucky Mammals’ upcoming LP “Fiddling in the Undertow”, is a somber, sometimes noisy ballad about the dangers of indoctrination. Musically, the track calls to mind shimmery and fuzzy alt rock classics such as Smashing Pumpkins’ “Soma”.

Follow Unlucky Mammals
Facebook | Instagram | Spotify | Twitter | YouTube

You Might Also Like

Latest Articles